An Old Name – A New Meaning

28 06 2013

Tamara – That’s my given name, and it means “palm tree.”

For years I’ve told people that I’d like to be more like a date palm (tall and thin) than a sago palm (short and dumpy!).

Then along came a Beth Moore study entitled The Patriarchs.

Because the series was on the names of God, our group leaders looked up the meaning of each lady’s name, then wrote both our name and it’s meaning on our name tags.

When the leader handed me my tag, she said, “Tami, your name means ‘date palm’.” My eyes instantly filled with tears.

God doesn’t miss a single detail of our lives! He was letting me know that He sees me as perfect – no matter what shape I’m in.

A few days later I discussed this with one of my daughters-in-law.

“What kind of name is ‘palm tree’?” I asked her, with a hint of couldn’t I have a ‘cooler’ one? in my voice.

“I know! I know!” she replied excitedly. “You are like an oasis in the desert. I feel refreshed after our visits.”

Her sweet words were rewarded with a downpour of my tears.

I had the same discussion with my other daughter-in-law. While we were talking, she asked, “So what does your middle name mean?”

“Hmm. “Jean.” I don’t know.”

I looked it up on the Internet. Was I ever in for a treat.

I don’t remember what the name itself means, but I learned that it is French for “John.”

More tears!

Why? The year before I bought a new Bible when we began John, the Beloved Disciple, another excellent study by Beth Moore.

When I made the purchase, I had them imprint it with “Tami – Beloved of God.”

In the flyleaf of the study book, I wrote a note to Jesus. It read: “The inscription on my new Bible is an act of faith on my part. You’ve said that I’m Your beloved. Lord, I want to have John’s confidence that I am deeply and truly loved by You.”

Thus, to learn that this disciple’s name was also my middle name deeply touched me.

That was several years ago. God honored my request, for I believe this with all my heart today! I know that I am loved.

If asked to describe myself, I don’t start with “author,” or “wife,” or “worship leader.” Instead, I nearly always say, “I’m Tami, the blood-bought daughter of the Lord Most High. I was chosen, accepted, adopted, redeemed, justified, sanctified, glorified, and seated in the heavenlies in Christ Jesus.”

What sweet gifts God gives to delight us…they are priceless!

God is glorified when His children are fully alive. I want to be walking proof of my glorious God.

Lord, may I be an example to others of how very much You love each one of us.

Time and again, I’ve seen that You do not change. Names are as significant to You today as they were in the early years of the world’s history. Where our names reflect the “old” man, You step in and give us a new name…or redefine the one we have. Thank You for being the God of the details…

…even of our names!

\o/

Actions

Information

19 responses

1 07 2013
kingintraining

This is such a sweet post. He truly is very gentle with us! Errr…just I dont think my name gets anything – it comes off an american movie, where the lead actresses nickname was Caddie haha

1 07 2013
lessonsbyheart

Ask Abba – you might be surprised. I was actually named after the American movie series, “Tammy”…Tammy and the Bachelor, Tammy and the Doctor, Tammy Tell Me True. There was nothing “Biblical” intended when I was named. (It may explain my romantic history as well!).

28 06 2013
Heather Marsten

What a blessing – I’ve been looking up all the names mentioned in the Bible – even the begats – most of them have something to do with God’s qualities, so the “boring” lists of names do double duty – they give the genealogy, but they also praise God. My pastor speaks of palms and compares them to hands and the praising of God by lifting up holy palms. I love when God gives us such gifts as this.

28 06 2013
lessonsbyheart

Ours is a generous God, to be sure. 🙂

\o/

28 06 2013
Mary

Tami, I am so glad you’ve shared this with us. Thank you for this post.

You know, the day I discovered that “Mary” meant “bitter,” you can imagine how I felt! Then I learned about Jabez in the Bible and how his name meant “sorrowful.” We’re all familiar with his prayer: ‘Oh, that you would bless me and enlarge my territory! Let your hand be with me, and keep me from harm so that I will be free from pain.’ (1 Chronicles 4:9-10) ‘AND GOD GRANTED HIS REQUEST.’ Wow!!! I love that! So, I’ve decided to pray that God would help ME NOT to become bitter regarding my circumstances, or my past, or towards anyone, etc.

In my case, I have the confidence that God can take bitter and turn it into sweet 🙂 It’s a work in progress and I am thankful that He changes me from glory to glory.

28 06 2013
lessonsbyheart

You’re in good company…Abram, Sarai, Jacob, Simon, and Saul! There are several others (Hosea & Gomer’s kids, i.e.) That was His plan all along! What a great reminder of what you “could” be – and motivation to avoid it at all cost!

I love the verse you used for “from glory to glory.” Meditate on the entire verse. It talks about us looking into a mirror and seeing the Lord looking back at us! Now that gives me “God bumps!” 🙂
\o/

29 06 2013
Mary

Indeed it does! God bumps 🙂

28 06 2013
Pure Glory

He knows your name and smiles when he thinks of you. 🙂

28 06 2013
lessonsbyheart

Yours as well. Isn’t that fantastic? 😉

\o/

28 06 2013
walter bright

awesome!

28 06 2013
lessonsbyheart

Awesome God! 🙂

\o/

28 06 2013
mwitasblog

How so very touching, the love of God on ANYBODY’s life! You are also special to me!

28 06 2013
journeyofjoy

What a beautiful post Tami !! And what a beautiful story about your note to HIM in your Bible. Made me tear up.

Several years after the LORD found me, I found out that the name Marlene is actually derived from the name (Mary Magdalene). I wasn’t necessarily thrilled about the name Mary, let alone Magdalene until of course I ran into the character Mary Magdalene in the New Testament. To know her was to love her!

She was the first witness to see the resurrected LORD. He appeared to her 1st. She loved Him with such a deep affection, that even the modern day world cannot stop conspiring that there had to be “more” between the two of them–a thought that satisfies me deeply quite frankly, because I admire the love between them. That she didn’t hold back. That she showed her affection. That she is affected by His suffering and death. That she is grieved and missed him AND showed Him that she did. Like you, I secretly like to believe that I was named after her because I would eventually mirror her qualities (deep sigh…, big smile)!

28 06 2013
lessonsbyheart

Now I want a “Like” button – better yet, a “LOVE IT” button. 😉

Have you ever heard the song “Alabaster Box?” If you haven’t you should. You can watch it on YouTube: http://youtu.be/G5zIOcBiTGg. Jesus is so good to us!

\o/

28 06 2013
godcrazzzy

last year, i went thro a state of mild depression. It was an extended season in my life where “all that can go wrong did go wrong”. one night after hearing more bad news, i curled up in my bed crying ma heart out and in the fetal position, i whispered for about 10 minutes non stop “Jesus loves me, Jesus loves me”. The enemy tried to tell me God was not on my side caz of my Job-type period of testing but that truth and confession brought me thro.
we are his beloved and I am glad he has made you aware of it. 😀

28 06 2013
Heidi Viars

Revelation 2:17b says “…and I will give him a white stone, with a new name written on the stone that no one knows except the one who receives it.” … I am not the sharpest crayon in box, but if I take it for what it says, I am intimately known by my God. He sees my heart, hears the whispers of my soul, looks intently into my mind … AMAZING! Thanks, Tammi Jean … you are loved!

28 06 2013
lessonsbyheart

His desire is for us. It’s easy to forget that we’re “engaged.” That takes our relationship to a whole new level. Mmm. He’s incredible!

Ask Him what He thinks of you some time. The first word that comes to mind – the word you dismiss as nonsense – yeah, hang onto that! He calls me “Beloved.” (He also called me “Babycakes” once… but that’s a story for another day!

If you knew the array of names I’ve been called in my lifetime, you’d understand the significance of this to me. None of the old names was pretty. With a few terms of endearment, Jesus completely melted my heart towards Him, and healed those old wounds!

I want everyone to know His healing power and His great love. 🙂
\o/

28 06 2013
Larry Who

I like that He calls me son.

28 06 2013
lessonsbyheart

That’s awesome! He calls me “delightful.” That makes me giggle like a little girl! 🙂

\o/

Your turn!

