A Teaspoon of Sand

18 06 2013

When life is all about me, I’m happy. For this reason, the 139th psalm is one of my favorites…it’s all about me. I daresay you like it for the same reason…it’s all about you!

Let’s take a peek:

Lord, You have searched me and known me. You know when I sit and when I rise. You understand my thoughts from afar off. You comprehend my path and my lying down and are acquainted with all my ways. For there is not a word on my tongue but behold, O Lord, You know it all together.

In a nutshell this says that we don’t move a muscle (including our tongues!) that God is not aware of. In the Bible we’re told that He keeps our tears in bottles and knows exactly how many hairs are on our heads. Even more, He is aware of our desires, motives, and our thoughts…the why behind what we do.

Continuing on:

You’ve hedged me behind and before and laid Your hand upon me. This is for our protection and help, NOT for judgment and condemnation. Psalm 103 says,” As a father has compassion on his child, so the Lord has compassion on those who fear Him, for He knows our frame. He remembers that we are dust.”

Go outside and pick up a handful of dirt. How much do you expect from the little pile?

Jesus said that He was not sent into the world to condemn the world, but that the world, through Him, might be saved.

Where can I go from Your Spirit, or where can I flee from Your presence? If I ascend into heave, You are there; if I make my bed in hell behold, You are there.

I don’t know about you, but I’ve made my bed in “hell on earth” more times than I care to recall. Deuteronomy 33:27 says, “The eternal God is a dwelling place; and underneath are the everlasting arms.” This is great news – we can never fall so far that His arms aren’t there to catch us.

Let’s pick up this great psalm in verse 13:

You have formed my inward parts. You knit me together in my mother’s womb.

One of my hobbies is knitting. As I considered the shawl I was working on, in light of this verse, I realized that I touch every inch of yarn that goes into my projects. When the piece is done, I know every stitch, and can identify it as my own work.

If you read the Genesis account of creation, you will discover that everything God made was spoken into existence: God said, “Let there be light;” God said, “Let the earth bring forth grass…the living creature.” But on the sixth day, He changed things up a bit. He stooped down and picked up a handful of dirt – and formed man. Then God breathed life His creation. Later that day, He made woman – oh, not as an afterthought, but as His crowning achievement! You can almost hear the music swell to a crescendo as God proclaimed, “It is very good.”

Read David’s next words:

I will praise You for I am fearfully and wonderfully made. Marvelous are Your works and that my soul knows very well.

“Marvelous are Your works” could also be translated, “I am an awesome wonder.” Only since the invention of the microscope have we been able to see the depths of this truth.

It also says that every circumstance of our lives was written down – even before egg and sperm met.

As I look back on my life there are many pages – chapters even – that I would tear out of that book if I could. They record many stupid mistakes and disgusting sin committed by me. I don’t want these recorded for all eternity. I am amazed that God knew every one of them beforehand…and chose me anyway.

He also chose you!

Finally:

How precious are Your thoughts to me, O God! How great is the sum of them. If I should count them they would be more in number than the sand. WHEN I AWAKE I am still with you.

In my house is a tiny jar. It contains one teaspoon of sand. Having read this verse, someone took the time to count the granules and discovered that a teaspoonful contains approximately 5,000 grains. The day I collected the two-cups-worth, no one came screaming at me…the “sand police” weren’t sent to arrest me. In fact, the removal of that bit wasn’t even noticeable!

Now imagine all the sand in all the world…

…and when you wake up you are still with God!

The sand, everywhere? Yeah. That’s just ONE night’s worth of thoughts. What a beautiful way for God to say, “I love you so much that I can’t get you out of My mind!”

What a great privilege to be invited into a personal, vibrant, loving relationship with God Almighty!

Actions

Information

18 responses

19 06 2013
Mary

The wonder of His love for us! Thanks Tami!

19 06 2013
lessonsbyheart

I am amazed by Him!

\o/

19 06 2013
Mary

Yes indeed 🙂

18 06 2013
Toni Sprandel

AMEN,AMEN & AMEN!!!

18 06 2013
Heather Marsten

LOL, I love knitting too – make prayer shawls for others. Thanks for subbing to healing from abuse, might want to check out my other blog Heather’s blog. It contains my testimony, a lot of Bible study notes taught by the pastor who helped me to sort through my past and find healing. Some pictures too :). I just moved it over from Xanga. It is remarkable how much God knows of us, and I also love that our names are inscribed on his palms. It took time to realize that He’s got our best interests at heart and we are always close to Him.

18 06 2013
lessonsbyheart

I’ll do that. I’m still a work in progress. 😉

\o/

18 06 2013
febcmedia

Hi Tami,

I’m from FEBC, an established international Christian organization with a mission to share the Gospel. We recently started the Gospel Blog, a collection of posts surrounding the theme of living and sharing the Gospel, with topics on missions, evangelism, church, faith, and culture.

I read through a few of your posts and really enjoy your writing style and the thoughts you have to offer. We would love to have you contribute to our blog. I believe it would really benefit our audience, as well as point a lot of people back to your own website.

You can visit the blog at http://blog.febc.org

You can view our main site at http://febc.org

If you are interested, please let us know by filling out the form at http://blog.febc.org/guest-blog

Thanks, and God bless!

18 06 2013
lessonsbyheart

Thank you so much for this opportunity. I don’t know, though…250-500 words? I can barely say “hello” in so few words. 😉

I’ve followed the link and have a profile there. Any suggestions for topics? This is all new to me!

\o/
Praise Jesus

18 06 2013
vonhonnauldt

Thank you for these thoughts. Never had considered the sixth day of creation as you show it. Thanks.

Yes, it’s something. Jesus knows “everything” about is, …and He died for us, anyway.

Bless you, dear sister. You are a joy to know.

18 06 2013
lessonsbyheart

Aw, thanks. I’m so glad we’re part of the same family.

(I was happy to hear that the reblog brought visitors. It was a great post.)

Enjoy this day that our Lord has blessed us with!

\o/

18 06 2013
Karina Susanto

Great inspiration. I love this very much..:)

18 06 2013
lessonsbyheart

He’s an awesome God! 🙂
\o/

18 06 2013
Larry Who

“…I am amazed that God knew every one of them beforehand…and chose me anyway…”

What a great revelation for all of us to ponder for eternity. Thanks.

18 06 2013
lessonsbyheart

I marvel at the tiny understanding I have of His great love for us. He is truly amazing. 🙂

\o/

18 06 2013
godcrazzzy

Wonderful. I wonder if u could knit a shawl for me too… a prayer shawl that is. What do you say talk to me…smile.

18 06 2013
Kari Anne Dorstad

Thanks, I needed these words this morning!

18 06 2013
lessonsbyheart

You’re welcome, Kari! See you on Thursday. 🙂

\o/

18 06 2013
lessonsbyheart

The shawls are thick, (so cuddly :)) and very warm. If you want one, I’d be delighted to make one for you. What color would you like? 🙂

You can e-mail me: batransformed1@yahoo.com.

\o/

Your turn!

