We Got Stoned!

17 06 2013

My husband, Wendel, and I got stoned at the rest stop coming back from the coast last year. Actually, he got stoned – and shared with me. We were so delighted that we took photos!

Stoned

It was such a great idea that I grabbed my camera and took a few shots of this rock before putting it back so it could reach its intended recipient. Wendel sat at a nearby picnic table while I headed for the Ladies’ Room.

Our actions did not go unnoticed (the Bible isn’t kidding when it says that we are surrounded by “so great a cloud of witnesses!”). In the car next to us was a young couple and their baby girl. They observed our unusual activity, waited for us to move away from the car, then went to investigate. For ease of identification, let’s call them Abe, Sarah, and Lottie!

When I returned to the car, Wendel was talking with Abe. Turning to me, he asked if I wanted to buy a game station or a laptop. I didn’t want the former, and already had the latter, so I declined.

Sarah, with baby Lottie in her arms, drew near and we asked them to tell us their story. Β Here it is in a nutshell:

They’d left Florida because Abe lost his job. Sarah’s aunt lived in Seattle, WA, and offered to let them stay with her while he looked for work. Selling all but what would fit into their SUV, they began their journey across the US – with $600 for food and gas. There wasn’t enough money for motels, so they camped along the way.

A law enforcement officer suggested they come up Highway 101 instead of Interstate 5, stating that panhandling would be more successful along the alternate route. That was how they came to be at this rest stop.

As we talked with them, Wendel asked if they’d seen the rock.

“Yeah. We figured you’d put it there when we saw you taking pictures of it,” Abe said.

“Um, nope. I found it when we got out of the car. Tami took pictures because she likes the idea and wants to do the same thing,” Wendel replied.

This, of course, led to a discussion about the Lord. In all we spent about 45 minutes with them.

The details fascinated me. Sarah was a Christian, Abe was not. Nevertheless, he allowed her to play an audio Bible on their stereo while they traveled. As a result, by the time we met up with them, he had many questions.

Abe was nuts about little Lottie, he was so tender and loving toward her. This provided the perfect object lesson that explained the love our heavenly Father has for us in a way he could understand. We used his obvious affection for his child to tell him about the greatest love of all. Tears rimmed his eyes as we spoke.

Wendel said, “You know; I believe this rock was left specifically for you. You need to take it with you.”

We suggested Mars Hill Church when they reached their destination, noting that there were several campuses in the Seattle area. There was sure to be one close to where they would be living.

Before we took our leave, Wendel said, “I planned to go ocean fishing while we were on vacation. My trip got cancelled. I think the reason was so that I would have that money to give you. Maybe this will help you two get home.” He handed some folded money to Abe.

We hugged them and prayed for them. Then we left them in the Lord’s hand and came home.

You never know what kind of adventure Jesus will send you on if you’re willing to let Him disrupt your schedule.

I love these divine appointments! Ask Him to give you one. You’ll be hooked for life!

Oh, here’s the back of the rock, and the note that was carefully tied to it. I don’t know who left this. I hope they find my story and can rejoice at what the Lord did with their labor of love.

Precious Gift

Proverbs 13:12 reads, “Hope deferred makes the heart sick, but when the desire comes, it is a tree of life.”

The note says, “God loves you and wants you to know He is thinking about you. Take this rock with you as a reminder.”

NowΒ that’sΒ the best way to get stoned!

Actions

Information

25 responses

18 06 2013
Toni Sprandel

Love it! And what a wonderfully beautiful way to share God’s love! I have never seen anything like it! Bless you for your kindness and sensitivity to the leading of the Holy Spirit! I love when the LORD does stuff like that!

18 06 2013
lessonsbyheart

He blesses our socks off on a regular basis!

{Hugs}

Tami
\o/

18 06 2013
rosesnearrunningwaters

What a cool idea!

18 06 2013
lessonsbyheart

I love it…and intend to “go and do likewise!”

\o/

18 06 2013
vonhonnauldt

Sorry, the pictures didn’t turn out.

BTW, thanks for the reblog. It brought all kinds of people into my neighborhood.

Just let me say, “you rock!”

18 06 2013
vonhonnauldt

ok. saw the pictures. Great post. God doesn’t always “meet” us in church.

18 06 2013
lessonsbyheart

(Disregard previous question regarding pix)

Considering that the world is His footstool, I’d say we run a fair chance of meeting Him just about anywhere! πŸ˜‰

\o/

18 06 2013
lessonsbyheart

(The pix on the post? I haven’t heard this from anyone else.)

You’re so funny! πŸ˜‰

\o/

18 06 2013
annabachinsky

What a great idea! I’m totally going to use it one day! πŸ™‚ And I’ve been to a few of the Mars Hill campuses in the area. I’m sure they will enjoy it! (Mark Driscoll is one of my favorite pastors to podcast!)

18 06 2013
lessonsbyheart

Oh, I hope they got connected. Such a wonderful family. Mark’s one of my favs, too, but I rotate. Currently I’m listening to Louie Giglio, John Ortberg, and Levi Lusko (awesome pastor – you should give him a listen…Fresh Life Church in Montana).

My oldest daughter and her family are moving back from PA in a couple of weeks. I think this would be a great project for us to work on (and something my grandkids can participate in as well).

Have a fantastic day!

\o/

18 06 2013
annabachinsky

I will definitely check Levi Lusko out. He’s the only one I haven’t heard of on the list. Thanks! And that sounds like a fabulous project to work on with the grandkids. I’m sure they will love it! πŸ™‚

18 06 2013
kingintraining

That is awesome! I love ideas like that! And definitely the best way to get stoned haha

18 06 2013
lessonsbyheart

I agree! πŸ™‚
\o/

17 06 2013
Pure Glory

When you allow God to direct, life is never dull. God appointments are adventuresome. Thanks for sharing!

17 06 2013
lessonsbyheart

πŸ™‚

17 06 2013
journeyofjoy

Oh’ my goodness, this is so good. The story moved me deeply! What a great God we serve. Encounters with God……….. you just don’t know when one’s about to happen. So glad you guys were there to be used of Him!

17 06 2013
lessonsbyheart

We enjoy them so much that we always ask for another opportunity to make His name known. It’s addicting, I can tell you that for sure! πŸ™‚

\o/

17 06 2013
tinabrenee

I love radical stories (and people) like this!

17 06 2013
lessonsbyheart

Following Jesus – rarely a dull moment! Thanks for your comment. πŸ™‚

\o/

17 06 2013
Larry Who

Great message.

17 06 2013
lessonsbyheart

πŸ™‚

17 06 2013
TeachX3

Fantastic… Glory to God! This is one of those posts that make one say WOOOHOOO and AMEN! πŸ˜€

17 06 2013
lessonsbyheart

Life with Jesus is so much fun!

Have a blessed day, dear sista’ from another mother!

\o/

17 06 2013
tamarknochel

Oh how i wish we had a LOVE button! I am totally going to do that! Thank you so much for sharing!

17 06 2013
lessonsbyheart

I haven’t made any yet, but intend to myself. Isn’t this a great idea?

\o/

Your turn!

