Whatever is Lovely – Award

9 06 2013

One of my favorite verses in the Bible is also Philippians 4:8, “Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things.” My thoughts can go in all sorts of directions, and most of them go in the course that is not in line with God’s way. What a gem this verse is to show me exactly how God wants me to love Him with all my mind! Right in the middle of this verse is the word “lovely”. It is one of the eight things mentioned in this verse that our thoughts ought to be. The original word actually has its root in the Greek word phileo, which means affection, friendship, or love (think of Philadelphia, the city of Brotherly Love). So, the word in this verse does not mean beautiful or something that is externally pleasing to the eye, as sometimes we use that word in English. In essence, what the verse is saying is this: whatever would encourage a love and friendship towards others, let your mind dwell on those things. (Note: this was so good that I left it as it was written!)

20130531-003155.jpgI have discovered that blogging can become another means to encourage love and friendship. No doubt I have been blessed by a number of bloggy friends, who have taken the time to read and follow my journey, share encouraging words, and offer their prayers. One such blogger is my dear sister from Especially Made, who has also further blessed me with a nomination for the One Lovely Blog Award. (There’s that word again, “lovely”). She is a delightful mother of a special needs child, a talented writer, and a dear sister in the Lord. She shares her thoughts about these things on her blog. Thank you so much for the nomination!

Since this blog is a reflection of my thoughts (thoughts that, by the grace of God, are lovely), I desire that those who visit here would find words that spur them on to love others. This is only possible because of Him!

I would like to pass this award on to 7 lovely bloggers. Here are my nominees:
http://anewcreationtoo.wordpress.com/ – Ann, who always has a timely word from the Lord
http://dianarasmussen.com/ – Diana, whose blog comes with healing in its wings
http://unwalled.wordpress.com/ – Kim, who challenges and encourages me through her writings
http://larrywho.com/ – Larry, whose heart for the poor challenges me to think beyond myself.
http://spiritministries.wordpress.com/ My dear brother in the Lord whose honest self-examination inspires me to do likewise
http://sevennotesofgrace.com/ – Ros, who combines music and grace, which flows with inspiration, encouragement, and challenge to draw closer to the Lord
http://nittygrittythoughts.wordpress.com/ – Divina Grace, who shares the love of the Lord in two languages (an ability which I envy!)

If you would like to post about this award and pass it on to others, here are the rules.
1. Add the “One Lovely Blog Award” image to your post
2. Share seven things about you
3. Pass the award on to seven nominees
4. Thank the person who nominated you
5. Inform the nominees by posting on their blogs

Last and certainly least, here are 7 random things about me.
1. Some days I make the Cowardly Lion look like Rambo.
2. I learned to draw with Commander Mark – and can draw awesome spaceships and dinosaurs… see “I Hate Frogs”
3. I used to be a welder.
4. I believe housework to be a lesson in futility.
5. My favorite “big word” to use is pusillanimous…it best describes me when I’m acting like my #1 statement above!.
6. I’m learning how to be a girl.
7. I don’t know what I want to be when I grow up.

Have a wonder-full day!

Actions

Information

12 responses

16 06 2013
Pastor Roland Ledoux

Awesome Sis, you deserve it and I love what you said about the verse!! God bless continually and have a happy Father’s day!

16 06 2013
lessonsbyheart

Thanks! I borrowed the verse from the gal who gave me the award…but it’s a great one, no matter who says it!

Happy Father’s Day to you as well.

\o/

10 06 2013
nitty-gritty

Thank you so much for that Ms Tami! Will surely pass it on. God bless! 😀

10 06 2013
Ann

Thanks again, Tami! I so love reading your blog. You lift me up 🙂 Your statement that I have a timely word from the Lord is very interesting to me. I must ponder that 🙂 Blessings to you!

10 06 2013
Especially Made

Love your random facts! 🙂

10 06 2013
lessonsbyheart

🙂

Tried to make them interesting!

\o/

10 06 2013
vonhonnauldt

Congratulations! Well-deserved.

10 06 2013
lessonsbyheart

Thank you. 🙂

\o/

10 06 2013
dianarasmussen

Wow, thanks Tami, you rock! I appreciate you and your blog, your sense of humor gets me every time. I will share the love, give me a few days….love you sis!

10 06 2013
lessonsbyheart

A few days? You’re fast! It usually takes me a couple of weeks! 🙂

\o/

10 06 2013
sevennotesofgrace

Thanks so much for including me here….I also love discovering new people and blogs and will surely find some others in your list to be most inspiring. Will get on to passing it on soon. Blessings.

10 06 2013
lessonsbyheart

No rush!

Your turn!

