Chicken Little and the Great Revelation

6 06 2013

I’m going to come clean. I can be a chicken; a yellow-belly; Gideon trying to crush wheat in a winepress! Oh, not as much as I used to be, but fear often tries to run my show.

Because I am a child of God, this is a sorry state of affairs. After all, I’ve been chosen, accepted, adopted, redeemed, justified, sanctified, glorified, and I’m seated in the heavenlies in Christ Jesus. My Father is the God of the Angel Armies, my Big Brother is the King of kings and Lord of lords. As the Psalmist so eloquently stated, “The Lord is on my side, whom shall I fear? What can man do to me?”

Right?

Of course right.

And yet…

There was a time in my life when I was afraid of my own shadow. I’d never lived on my own, never had to completely take care of myself. At that time, there were also four children to provide for. I was almost immobilized by fear.

A very wise counselor sat me down and had me work through some of my fears. In the end, I realized I was being downright foolish.

For instance, we had nowhere to live and were staying with my parents until I could make other arrangements. Because of my state of mind at that time, I was terrified to apply for an apartment or house – certain that I would be rejected.

“All right, Tami,” my counselor said, “let’s think this through. What will happen if every landlord in town turns down your application?”

“I won’t have a home for my kids and me,” I replied.

“Well, then what would happen?” she asked.

“We would be homeless and have to live on the streets.” I said.

“Then what could happen?” she prodded.

“I wouldn’t be able to work. We would have no money,” I said, fear rising within me.

“And then what?”

“We could starve to death. Without a home, we might freeze to death this winter.” My voice trembled like an almond tree being shaken.

“If you die, then what?” She asked softly.

I thought about it for a minute – then smiled broadly.

“We go to heaven!” I exclaimed, fear’s choke-hold broken.

I used this process countless times to face down my fear during my twenties – and many times since.

Played out to it’s extreme end, all that I fear could end in death…

…Home with Jesus!

Well now, that’s not so bad!

“Therefore, since the children share in flesh and blood, He Himself likewise also partook of the same, that through death He might render powerless him who had the power of death, that is, the devil, and might free those who through fear of death were subject to slavery all their lives.” [Heb 2:14-15] 

Thank you, Robin Claire for adding this Scripture. Funny how God can say in a couple of sentences what it took me an entire page to explain!

Actions

Information

35 responses

12 06 2013
Robin Claire

“Therefore, since the children share in flesh and blood, He Himself likewise also partook of the same, that through death He might render powerless him who had the power of death, that is, the devil, and might free those who through fear of death were subject to slavery all their lives.” [Heb 2:14-15]

Very, very interesting post you have here. Once death is fully faced, there really isn’t much more to be afraid of, is there?

12 06 2013
lessonsbyheart

Great Scripture! Yes! Once death is fully faced, and the “worst” thing that could happen in any scenario is death…it has indeed lost its sting. {Breathes a sigh of relief!} Thanks for adding that Scripture here. It’s great (I may edit the post and include it so everyone can enjoy it…not everyone reads the comments!)

Love you, sis!
Tami
\o/

7 06 2013
crystal780205

Sounds like a wise counselor you had! Glad God used her to aid in your healing! God Bless, Crystal

7 06 2013
lessonsbyheart

God has blessed me with a couple of outstanding counselors, whom He used in mighty ways to lead me to Truth and set me free – there’s still work to do, but I’ve come a very, very long way!

Delight yourself in the Lord – and He will give you (put within you – and then fulfill) the desires of your heart.

Be blessed today.
\o/

6 06 2013
Pure Glory

Fear freezes and stops one from their destiny. I can relate to your post. There was a time when I was fearful of almost everything. God has delivered me from much fear but still am working on overcoming fear of man.

6 06 2013
lessonsbyheart

It sure does!

\o/

6 06 2013
Pure Glory

God’s perfect love casts out fear. The more I marinate in his love for me, the less fear I have.

6 06 2013
Pure Glory

The more I marinate and meditate on God’s perfect love, the more free from fear I get. I’ve spent too much time empowering fear in my life. Now I’m going the opposite direction.

6 06 2013
Elizabeth Yalian

I so completely understand this. I was petrified of getting baptized after I received Jesus into my heart. It took me over a year. My fear was that God would reject me on the spot,the moment I went under water, and I would die. A good friend used the same method of questions with me. Once I realized the outcome of my death would mean Heaven, I had the peace and was baptized. Like you, I unknownigly, let fear strangle me. Thank you so much for sharing!

6 06 2013
Elizabeth Yalian

Praise God, He has removed our fear shackles!

6 06 2013
lessonsbyheart

Glad you could relate to it. You’re most welcome. 🙂

\o/

6 06 2013
Toni Sprandel

Home with Jesus! Yippeeeee!

6 06 2013
lessonsbyheart

🙂

6 06 2013
spiritministries

Praise God!

6 06 2013
lessonsbyheart

\o/ \o/ \o/

Jumpin’ for joy!

6 06 2013
Timothy Murray

Great post. I often hear, even Christians, remark about living another day, “Well, it beats the alternative.” I often tell them, not if you’re a believer!

6 06 2013
lessonsbyheart

True that! However, I’m reblogging an article on Sunday that has a little different view on things. I thought they made a good point, that’s why I’m going to share it. You’ll have to check it out!

\o/

6 06 2013
Timothy Murray

I will do it.

6 06 2013
vonhonnauldt

It’s not death we’re afraid of so much as it is of dying.

Great post, as always.

Grateful for grace.

6 06 2013
lessonsbyheart

That’s definitely true for me. I’d rather be asleep when it’s time to move on! 🙂

(Thanks)

\o/

6 06 2013
findingmyinnercourage

Excellent Blog on fear! Blessings!

6 06 2013
lessonsbyheart

Thanks!

Thank you, Lord, for another great lesson learned!

\ 🙂 /

6 06 2013
melanie jean juneau

I have had a similar struggle with fear until God gave me a gift of joy

6 06 2013
lessonsbyheart

Yay, God! I still struggle with fear from time to time…but mostly the fear of man.

Blogging is a great way to practice overcoming this, though. 😉

\o/

6 06 2013
melanie jean juneau

agreed

6 06 2013
lessonsbyheart

🙂

8 06 2013
8 06 2013
lessonsbyheart

I accepted on your post for the award. Thanks, Melanie.

Love the new look!

\o/

8 06 2013
melanie jean juneau

so glad

6 06 2013
TeachX3

Beautiful post sister…

For God hath not given us the spirit of fear; but of power, and of love, and of a sound mind.

For whether we live, we live unto the Lord; and whether we die, we die unto the Lord: whether we live therefore, or die, we are the Lord’s.

AMEN! 😀

6 06 2013
lessonsbyheart

AMEN and AMEN!

\o/

6 06 2013
Mikey

Great post on fear. While reading it, I was reminded of Psalm 56:3, “Whenever I am afraid, I will trust in You”.

Do not fear the darkness that is gathering all around,
For the Lord is with you, and in Him true peace is found;
When you’re facing trouble, or when tragedy sees near,
Jesus is the only one to drive away your fear … Hess

Have a GREAT day in the LORD!

Mikey

6 06 2013
lessonsbyheart

Oh, yeah! Isn’t He incredible?

\o/

6 06 2013
theundercoverchristian

Great post. Dave Ferguson memorably says “Christians should be the last people afraid of risk.”

6 06 2013
lessonsbyheart

Hey there! Thanks for stopping by! I really like your blog, and intend to reblog an article of yours on Sunday.

May the Lord greatly bless your labor with a harvest beyond anything you ever hoped for!

\o/

Your turn!

