No Absolutes? Are You Absolutely Sure?

22 05 2013

How do we determine what is “good,” and what is “evil?” Personally, I tend to consider those things which are pleasant to me, make me feel good, or add to my pile of possessions as “good.” Conversely, I consider those things which hurt, cause me grief, or deplete my store of stuff as “evil.” It’s pretty subjective, when I look at it in this light.

It works for me.

When I am deciding what is good and evil, that makes me the judge. That makes me god.

What happens though, when what I judge to be good or evil clashes with what my neighbor judges to be good or evil? I like T-Birds. You own one and I don’t. I decide that I want to have a T-Bird, so I take yours. Are you going to see it from my point of view and agree that it is good for me to have your car and let me drive off with it? I don’t think so.

We’ve arrived at the place in history where many people believe they are entitled to their own “reality.” They will say, “What’s true for you is not what’s true for me, and what’s true for me may not be what’s true for you.” They believe that there is no such thing as absolute truth.

Really?

Let’s carry that out to its logical conclusion.

If I’m entitled to my own reality, then in my mind, you should not exist. Prepare to die because I’m going to shoot you.

“You can’t do that?”

“Why not?”

“Because it’s wrong.”

“Who says?”

“I do.”

“Well, that’s your reality. My reality is that you should be dead.”

Without a standard by which everyone agrees to abide, we’re in for some serious trouble. Watch tonight’s news and you’ll see what I mean.

If only one person on the planet decided they were going to live according to their own reality, it would be a problem for the few around him or her. Unfortunately, we have an increasing percent of the population who are beginning to adopt this kind of thinking. As a result we see a sharp rise in murder, rape, war, slavery, theft, abuse of every sort.

On what grounds can anyone be convicted of a crime if there are no absolutes? Is that what we really want?

Long ago, we were given a Book that contains absolutes. We call them the Ten Commandments. How different our world would be if everyone actually lived by them.

…Just sayin’ !

Actions

Information

22 responses

25 05 2013
PaperGiftsForEstefany

Haha – great post. Have you ever heard Ravi Zacharias (rzim – wonderful apologetics ministry) speaking about this? He talks about how some people like to be nice to their neighbours, others like to eat them? Which would you prefer?!

26 05 2013
lessonsbyheart

🙂 I enjoy listening to Ravi. He always brings fresh life to the Bible’s truths.
Thanks for sharing him with me. Personally, I’d rather not have neighbors that want to eat me!
\o/

24 05 2013
cshowers

Amen – I’m one who sees things black and white, right and wrong… I don’t see the different shades of gray, because in order for us to survive and flourish as a society, there must be absolutes… Doesn’t anyone else see our resemblance to the fallen Roman empire? The more decadent ancient Rome became, with no absolutes, the quicker it fell to ruins.

Bless you for sharing this!

Cheryl

24 05 2013
lessonsbyheart

My two favorite absolutes:
You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart, mind, soul, and strength.
You shall love your neighbor as yourself.
If we followed just these two, nothing else would be an issue.

You’re right about the Roman Empire. Lord, help us, please.
\o/

23 05 2013
Valerie Rutledge

Lady…we are on the same page today! It gives me goose bumps whenever I see believers posting on the same topic. Just confirmation of God’s Word and His infinite power! “Where two or three are gathered in my name, there I am with them.” (we may not be together physically but we are gathered together in spirit)

23 05 2013
lessonsbyheart

Ooh, me too!

Enjoy the holiday weekend!
\o/

22 05 2013
Dione~psalms348blog

You brought it up above, but I was thinking of the time of Judges where everyone did what was right in their own eyes and the evils that resulted. There needs to be standards.

22 05 2013
lessonsbyheart

Praise God for providing. The Big Ten aren’t rigid, barbed-wire fences to keep us from having fun. They are God saying, “Don’t…these things will hurt you.”
\o/

22 05 2013
Bob

I believe we are to follow the Will of God in our selves. He is the only ‘absolute’ we are to follow.

The problem we humans have is that we rarely fully understand enough to recognise an absolute (real) compared to an absolute (of our own understanding)

Consider the Scribes and Pharisees of the Bible – they undoubtedly believed in the Absolute of the 10 commandments and tried to accuse Jesus of breaking them – working on the Sabbath, taking the name of the Lord in vain etc. Their poor understanding of absolutes caused them to accuse the Son of God of breaking ‘their’ (God’s) Laws.

We need to take great care and consideration that we do not do as they did, believing themselves to be doing the law which was the will of God while not having the true Love of God in our heart, being limited by the limited understanding of our minds and strict interpretation of the Word.

God does not wish to make it difficult for us… it is just that our minds suffer the influence of this world and our earthly natures so as to sometimes make us too rigid for our own good. What we see as absolute may just be absolute for our current level of understanding, not a ‘real’ one.
God Bless

22 05 2013
lessonsbyheart

Thanks for your input, Bob. I appreciate it. Being in the process of transformation, I find that there’s still much of my mind that needs to be renewed. You make some excellent points here.
Bless you!
\o/

22 05 2013
worthless_romantic

That’s why I stopped thinking I’m “hearing God” about this woman or that woman. When Jesus says it’s adultry for me to get married again, it’s foolish for me to think there’s someone out there for me, no matter what I think God is saying subjectively, the Bible is clear…there’s not.

22 05 2013
lessonsbyheart

((()))
We’ll miss seeing you this Friday and Monday. I’m so glad you’re part of our family!
\o/

22 05 2013
walter bright

For cops it’s the SOC
For car owners it’s the Owrner’s Manuel
In sports we have an Umpire or referee and accepted rules governing the game
God has given us his rules (the bible) for the game of life and we better pay attention
Awesome post!

22 05 2013
lessonsbyheart

Why, thank you kindly!

(um…”SOC?”) 🙂
\o/

22 05 2013
walter bright

Sorry bout that – I meant SOP
Standard operation procedure. The term standard operating procedure, or SOP, is used in a variety of different contexts, including healthcare, aviation, education, industry, and military.

22 05 2013
lessonsbyheart

Okay, thanks. I’d have understood SOP – I’ve written a few manuals of SOPs in my working days.

Came up with some interesting possibilities for SOC, though. Standards Of Criminals, Sharers of Candy… 😉
\o/

22 05 2013
vonhonnauldt

One either accepts the absolutes of God or of the devil.

22 05 2013
lessonsbyheart

Umm – yup! 🙂
\o/

22 05 2013
Larry Who

One of my favorite expressions is: “All rules have exceptions, even this one.” But humor aside, when it comes to biblical absolutes, there are no exceptions, just rebellion.

22 05 2013
lessonsbyheart

That’s true. Excellent point. Hmm. No absolutes does indeed boil down to rebellion, doesn’t it?
\o/

22 05 2013
Kevin

The ‘moral filth’ dilema 🙂

22 05 2013
lessonsbyheart

The conclusions drawn from this kind of thinking are being lived out before our eyes as “each man does what is good in his own eyes.’ Scary.
\o/

Your turn!

