Worm’s Eye View

15 05 2013

At around 5:45 this morning, my brother-in-law, Jim, slipped through the thin, gossamer veil that separates mortality from life (2 Cor. 5:4). While we will miss him, I am confident that I will see him again.

No big surprise, there were lessons for me to learn from this season of life.

Yesterday, I sent out a warning about having health directives. I still believe this is important, and you should consider them if you don’t have any in place.

Our local rehabilitation hospital “dumped” our brother on a hospital over three hours away with the intent of getting rid of a difficult patient.

But God… (how Iย love those words!)

…hmm, God had a plan.

The truth of what He had been doing was unveiled for me like a beautiful painting this morning.

At 4:30, I went out to catch a couple hours of sleep in my car. Only an hour and a bit into this respite (I can sleepย anywhere!), I was suddenly fully awake, so I went back into the hospital to check on Jim. His male nurse caught sight of me, and asked me to wait in the lounge area while he and another nurse tended to Jim.

A few minutes later, he came out and told me that just minutes before my arrival, Jim had breathed his last.

Then he began to tell me about his visit with Jim around five that morning.

This kind man sat with Jim and explained the gospel to him. He told Jim that what he’d done with his life didn’t matter, but Who he knew was very important. He prayed with him, and gave him permission to quit fighting off the inevitable. When he went back to check on Jim again, he was gone.

For months, we have been very angry with the local hospital for their cruel decision to move Jim so far away from any family or friends. It was very difficult to visit him – especially during the winter when the mountains were icy or impassible.

What they meant for “evil,” God meant for good.

Once again, I failed to ask the most important question when Jim was moved: “What is God up to?”

You see, God picked Jim up from a fairly godless facility, and dropped him into the midst of the most amazing, loving Christian caregivers I’ve ever met in one place (aside from church). Jim’s social worker, many of the nurses and CNAs, as well as other staff are all vibrant believers. They actually live what they believe, and are free about sharing their faith with their patients.

No doubt the reason I will see my brother-in-law in heaven is because God moved on Jim’s behalf. While his relocation made no sense from a human standpoint, from God’s perspective, this was the most loving thing He could do.

Who have you been praying for, I wonder? Have you given up hope that they will ever come to a knowledge of the truth? May this story strengthen your faith as you can see through our experience that God never gives up on those we are praying for. Their heartbeat is proof that Jesus is still knocking – seeking admittance into their hearts.

Mmm. Patient? Definitely. Gracious? Absolutely. You’ve just got to love a God like that!

A special thank you for all your wonderful prayers and sweet sympathy that have showered in from all over the world through those who follow this blog. There was such a sense of peace and comfort through the last days, which I attribute to your petitions on our behalf. You are all wonderful.

I look forward to meeting each one of you face-to-face when once our own mortality has been swallowed up by life. Maybe we can have a WordPress reunion at my place – eh? I’ll supply the food. Who wants to be in charge of name tags? ๐Ÿ™‚

Note: Tomorrow we have to drive back up there to make funeral arrangements, etc. As a result, posts and replies will take a little longer than usual. Thanks for your patience. I am so blessed by you!

Actions

Information

34 responses

18 05 2013
Rob Barkman

Our prayers continue for your family. May the Lord bless you richly with grace, peace and comfort.

18 05 2013
lessonsbyheart

Thank you so much. We are definitely being carried by the Lord through this!
\o/

17 05 2013
Timothy Murray

I had been praying for him and all you guys since your previous post. I am sorry to hear the news. But, thanks be to God, we can echo: O death, where is your victory? O death, where is your sting?
During such times I recall John Donne’s poem, Death Be Not Proud. I actually used this poem and reworded it to refer specifically to Christ in my post this past Easter Sunday.
I hope you find comfort in the arms and love or God during this time.

18 05 2013
lessonsbyheart

I have that verse written next to the one from Corinthians that states “this mortality shall be swallowed up by life.” It doesn’t get any better than that!
\o/

18 05 2013
Timothy Murray

Very true.

16 05 2013
wordforlifesays

I’m playing catch-up on reading posts and I just saw this. I am so sorry to hear of your loss. I will keep you and your family in prayer.

16 05 2013
lessonsbyheart

Thank you so much. Many prayers have been offered on our behalf. I can’t believe we’re as “okay” as we are. It has to be the Lord’s doing.
\o/

17 05 2013
wordforlifesays

It’s the Lord all the way and I am grateful He’s your comfort at this time.

16 05 2013
Heidi Viars

What an encouraging story amidst your pain. I am so sorry. BUT GOD… yes, those are such wonderful words … thanks for reminding us to look for what God is doing, no matter the circumstances … I will be thinking about you, sister!

18 05 2013
lessonsbyheart

Thanks, Heidi! ๐Ÿ™‚
\o/

16 05 2013
Larry Who

What a powerful testimony. Thanks for the heads-up at my site.

16 05 2013
lessonsbyheart

You’re welcome!
\o/

16 05 2013
dianarasmussen

Oh sis, I am so sorry for your loss. yes I know you will see Jim again, but my prayer is for Holy Spirit to comfort and hold you as only He can. Lord, bring Tami and her family peace during this difficult time, and thank you Lord, for your faithfulness and love.

16 05 2013
lessonsbyheart

Thanks for your prayers.
\o/

16 05 2013
annabachinsky

I’m so sorry about your loss ๐Ÿ˜ฆ It’s so encouraging to know that it’s only a temporary one as you you’ll soon see him in heaven! What a glorious hope we have in Jesus and in our future together with Him.

16 05 2013
lessonsbyheart

Amen!
\o/

16 05 2013
heavenlyraindrops

What an awesome testimony. It does give me hope for my lost loved ones. Thanks!

16 05 2013
lessonsbyheart

๐Ÿ™‚
\o/

16 05 2013
Toni Sprandel

I am so blessed by you! You have no idea! This post is proof, if we just pray with faith, God will do His part. Thank you for your heart for the LORD and being able to share your experiences with us. I can’t wait to get to heaven and give you a humongous hug!

16 05 2013
lessonsbyheart

I think it was the shot in the arm I needed concerning other family members who “used to be” Christians, and are acting like anything but. God really does not give up on us. I witnessed that first hand this week.

Thanks for your support. I’ll be expecting that hug!

\o/

16 05 2013
tinafriesen

I’m sorry about your loss. But your story is amazing! It is faith inspiring.

16 05 2013
lessonsbyheart

It’s taken my faith to a whole new level. God is so amazing. I’m awestruck!
\o/

16 05 2013
theywhoseek

With God all things are possible . . . Praise Him always for His faithfulness . . . He wishes not one to perish and will bring all His sheep home to Him. ~ Blessings ~

16 05 2013
lessonsbyheart

Thank you so much!
\o/

16 05 2013
TeachX3

All praise, glory and honor to God, AMEN! Heaven is rejoicing!!

I am very sorry for the loss of your brother in law… may our Lord give your family comfort and strength…

16 05 2013
lessonsbyheart

Not only is He comforting us, but He gave us a youth pastor as Jim’s last nurse! Wowee! When God said He begins what He starts, He wasn’t kidding!

Have a blessed day, dear sister!

16 05 2013
obiamaka onyebum

Wow! Such strength, peace and inner joy can only come from God. May He comfort your family and keep you all strengthened. I praise God for calling him unto glory!

16 05 2013
lessonsbyheart

God is so good – all the time. If only I could learn to trust Him more.
Thanks for your prayers.
\o/

16 05 2013
Tanya M.

Unbelievably touching post. This story really touched my heart to see and realize how our loving God works even when, especially when, we don’t understand. Praise God for Jim’s life and for everyone who knew, loved, and prayed for him! Praying for your family… and I look forward to that WordPress reunion at your place.

16 05 2013
lessonsbyheart

Yeah, it turns out we couldn’t see the forest for the trees!
Thank you.
\o/

15 05 2013
vonhonnauldt

The Lord Jesus WILL find His sheep!!

16 05 2013
lessonsbyheart

Isn’t He fantastic?
\o/

15 05 2013
lessonsbyheart

Thanks, Cheryl. Everyone here has been so wonderfully supportive. What a blessing you are!
\o/

15 05 2013
cshowers

Bless you, my friend. I pray the Lord comforts your family, and I am ever grateful that we serve a God who is faithful to woo us right up until the very end, never sleeping or slumbering, but always abounding in steadfast love. I rejoice with you, believing that your brother-in-law crossed over into glory.

Much love to you,
Cheryl

Your turn!

