Slow Response and a Warning!

14 05 2013

Hi, everyone. I apologize for my slow responses today. I’m three hours from home, sitting in the hospital with my brother-in-law. Although He is a year younger than I am, he will be leaving us – probably this week. Please pray for a peaceful passing for him. He’s had a rough go of it.

While I have your attention I have a word of caution for those of you who are single. Seriously consider assigning someone you trust to be your power of attorney for health care. Without an authorized person, you are at the mercy of whatever health facility ends up with you.

We were very fortunate. Although the facility in our town moved my b-i-l three hours away from anyone he knows (he’s been here for almost six months), I’m confident that the Lord had His hand in the whole process. This hospital is full of wonderful, Spirit-filled, loving believers. They’ve been so kind to my bro, and to me since I dropped in on them today. They are taking wonderful care of him, and doing all they can to keep him comfortable.

Without health care directives, though, you are at risk of finding yourself in his position…something I would not wish on anyone. While this is a fabulous hospital, we’ve been unable to travel to him through the winter due to snow on the mountains that separate us. The gas costs are another issue.

The previous hospital bounced him from their facility to the regular hospital and back. We usually didn’t know until we tried to call him. This move was done without anyone’s consent. In fact, they said he would be moved the next day. We went to see him the night before – and discovered he had already been moved.

A word to the wise is sufficient.

Actions

Information

11 responses

15 05 2013
Pure Glory

God is merciful and answers our prayers. How wonderful that you will get to see your brother-in-law in heaven. You were certainly at the right place and time. God is so good. May God’s arms of comfort you and your family during this difficult time. My prayers are with you.

16 05 2013
lessonsbyheart

Thank you so much.
\o/

15 05 2013
Toni Sprandel

Praying for all of you during this sad situation.

15 05 2013
Christina

I will certainly say a prayer for your family right now. God bless you.

15 05 2013
Timothy Murray

I am praying.

15 05 2013
labhrashealy

Father God, Across time and space you reach out to us and we reach back in return. Though there may be volumes of water and time between the children of your family, each and every one of them hears you and you hear them. You touch them. I pray that, God, the God that saw Tami and her family through the “fearful flight” will again make known to our sister your loving, gracious presence. To be comforted in knowing that you our God is with her and her loved ones. The God of Israel in Isaiah 48 is still the same God, Our God and as He did with Adam & Eve, He walks with you now and always.
In the name of Christ Jesus, our Saviour God. AMEN

15 05 2013
lessonsbyheart

Wow! Awesome prayer and reminder, as well. How quickly one an forget. =(
\o/

14 05 2013
Kris

I’m sorry to hear of this. I have prayed for your brother-in-law and asked for what I would want myself. Your call to have directives in place is sound advice.

14 05 2013
lessonsbyheart

Thanks. Prayers are being felt here – such a sense of peace…opportunities to share Jesus with the staff, too! God is good.

\o/

14 05 2013
vonhonnauldt

Even if you’re married, you need to consider what this post says. The future is uncertain to everyone except God.

14 05 2013
lessonsbyheart

We’ve been living this nightmare since last September. It really stinks!

Thanks for putting your $.02! I appreciate it.
\o/

Your turn!

