Wannabe-Lion Poo

13 05 2013

Don’t look now, but there’s a lion look-alike hot on your trail.

I know he’s not a real lion because the genuine article doesn’t set traps for his prey. This one does. He goes about “like” a roaring lion, seeking whom he may devour.”

What is his bait?

Offense.

If he can get you offended, you’re on your way to becoming his dinner.

Check this out:

In Luke 17:1, Jesus said, “It is impossible that no offenses should come, but woe to him through whom they do come.”

So what does this so-called lion use as bait?

“It is not an enemy who taunts me – I could bear that. It is not my foes who so arrogantly insult me – I could have hidden from them. Instead, it is you – my equal, my companion and close friend. What good fellowship we once enjoyed as we walked together to the house of God.” (Psalm 55:12-14 NLT)

Other sheep, that’s what he uses.

The end result:

“And then many will be offended, will betray one another, and will hate one another. Then many false prophets will rise up and deceive many. And because lawlessness will abound, the love of many will grow cold.” Matthew 24:10-12

It is easy to forget that we don’t fight against flesh and blood, but against principalities and powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this age, against spiritual hosts of wickedness in the heavenly places. Their ring leader wants to steal, and kill, and destroy us. Did you know he also has a will for our lives? You can bet that’s not going anywhere good.

He wants us “in him” – not “in Christ.” In the end we’ll become a steaming pile of “wannabe-lion poo.” Is that really what we want?

Our fight isn’t with flesh-and-blood people…although they may be the “front man” – and rarely aware that they are.

Divorce, ended friendships, church splits? These begin with one party or the other being offended. Without an understanding of what’s going on behind the scenes, or any tools to work with, the “right” thing to do seems to dust off one’s shoes and move on.

I dare say this is a huge issue in the Christian community today. People are leaving the church in droves because of offense.

The question we must ask when the opportunity to be offended is, “Who will benefit most if I take this bait? God? Me? The other party? or my enemy?”

I want to run the race well, and arrive worn out and used up, exclaiming, “What a ride!” This will not happen if I allow myself to be taken captive by the enemy of my soul.

“But, I’ve already been offended. I’ve got bitterness, anger, and unforgiveness – you don’t know what they did! I have a right to feel the way I do,” you may be thinking. I understand that line of thinking – I’ve been there for many years, and for “good” reason. There isn’t room to address this here, so I would like to recommend a resource that will help you through the process of healing – and possibly restoration.

There is a 12-week study by John Bevere entitled, “The Bait of Satan.” This study has a book, and a workbook. If you’ve been offended, you’ll need both. The book will give you understanding. The workbook is where healing comes. (A DVD series is also available.)

Here’s a quote by John Bevere:

“When you make the decision that you are going to go with God, the flow of the world is contrary to the flow of the Kingdom, and you’re going to meet up with resistance and opposition.

How you handle that resistance and opposition will determine your future because God’s Word, His promise, will always come to pass as long as you don’t get offended.”

(Bait of Satan, Session 2)

The bottom line is this: We can get free, and stay free from offense, or we can go on as we have…

…and become “wannabe-lion poo.”

Actions

Information

12 responses

14 05 2013
hope4theheart

My favorite quote about unforgiveness is by Dr. Mario Rivera “Bitterness is like drinking poison and hoping it kills the person sitting next to you.”

14 05 2013
lessonsbyheart

Highly ineffective, I’ve discovered! Excellent quote. Thanks for sharing.
\o/

14 05 2013
greenlightlady

This is a wonderfully wise post! You are right to remind us of who is behind offenses, and that it is not flesh and blood we wrestle against…

Blessings ~ Wendy

14 05 2013
lessonsbyheart

Thanks!

\o/

13 05 2013
Reilly Irvine

Interesting read! I was blessed by it.

It seems especially so with younger “professing Christians,” who let their offensive, biting wild side of them go without restraint.

Thanks be to the Holy Spirit, who produces in us self-control, patience, kindness and love. All these things leave no room for arguments, offenses and divisions.

We can be sure that where the Holy Spirit comes in power within the Church, grudges will be cast aside, offenses will be forgiven, and praise will be given to God for it!

13 05 2013
lessonsbyheart

Bring it on! I long for the day. Until then, I’m doing my best to equip the body with the tools needed to help us move toward unity – not uniformity, but true unity!

Thanks for your thoughtful response. Your spiritual maturity is encouraging.

\o/

13 05 2013
jemiluce

This is a real challenge bit also an encouragement. I like the fact that if I’m on God’s side I’ll get opposition – it makes this easier to deal with!

13 05 2013
lessonsbyheart

“Knowledge is power,” as they say! 🙂

\o/

14 05 2013
jemiluce

Awesome!

13 05 2013
Toni Sprandel

Loved this post!

13 05 2013
thethinkingofthoughts2013

Sounds like something I need to read.

13 05 2013
lessonsbyheart

Yeah – I don’t want to say I’m slow…but this is the third time the Lord has me going through this study. The first time took nine months. I think He was saying, let me tell it to you reeeaaalll slooooww so you can understand every word of what I’m telling you. 😉

I had TONS of offense to work my way through!

check abebooks.com They may have a used copy of the book for a buck or two.

Your turn!

