Dirty Undies

9 05 2013

Mama said, “Put on clean underwear. You wouldn’t want to be in an accident and have dirty ones on, would you?” Sorry, Mom, but I’m old enough to know that in an accident, the undies are the first things to go!

But I don’t want to talk about boxers, briefs, panties or thongs today, but rather to discuss mental “undies.”

Some mornings I get up feeling like 150 pounds of sin on a Popsicle stick. My mind is filled with the things I’ve done to hurt others and myself. Scenes of my yesterdays stream across the screen of my mind.

I was so foolish. What was I thinking? How could I have done such horrible things?

Days like this, I don’t bother to put on any other “clothes,” but run around with my “dirty undies” hanging out for all to see, and stinking to high heaven. If those I encounter don’t notice my attire, I will draw their attention to what I’m wearing:

“There was a time in my life when I would drink until I blacked out. During the blackout I would…” and other cruddy information about myself that they didn’t know.

(Appropriate shock and horror flashes on the face of my audience. Ah, good. They see my dirty undies.)

On other days, I put on “garments” to cover my “grunge” – things like a happy face, effervescence, helpfulness, kindness. Underneath these things, I am aware of the filth I’m wearing, but cover it up with vesture that will be more appealing to others. When I’ve dressed like this I try not to move much – the rustling of my “outer” wear causes little whiffs of the stench beneath to be released.

But God…

(Don’t you love those words – you know the story is only going to get better from here!)

Well, okay, this time it’s Jesus who has something to say on the matter:

You’ve been in my dresser again, haven’t you?

“What’s that, Lord?”

You’ve been in my dresser again. I see that you are wearing My clothes. Don’t you remember? I gave you a beautiful new robe of My righteousness to wear.

I feel silly, embarrassed even. How could I have forgotten? Jesus is the “Clothes horse” for my sin. He bore all my guilt and shame on the cross. Every bit of it hung on Him when He gave His life for me.

In exchange, He gave me His righteousness. He sees me as “holy, blameless, and above reproach.”

I don’t have to wear my old, dirty underwear ever again! In my robe of His righteousness, I am the fragrance of Christ to God. I’m free to live and move and have my being in Him. Move along, nothing foul to smell here!

“If any man is in Christ, he is a new creation. The old has gone, the new is come.”

How about you? From which “dresser” did you choose today’s outfit?

Actions

Information

36 responses

29 05 2013
Michael

Hmnnn. Food for thought !

29 05 2013
lessonsbyheart

I don’t know that I’d put “dirty undies” and “food” in the same sentence. 🙂

\o/

22 05 2013
Jo Yule

I love your honest sharing of yourself. May God bless your writing

22 05 2013
lessonsbyheart

Thank you. 🙂
\o/

12 05 2013
Kari Anne Dorstad

Humorous post! Thank you Jesus for the new wardrobe.

11 05 2013
Robin Claire

Hi Tami,
Thank you for stopping by my blog and signing up. I think we will have a lot to talk about, you and I. I really enjoy your blog and signed up for it myself.
robin

11 05 2013
lessonsbyheart

So glad we’ll “bump” into one another often!

12 05 2013
Robin Claire

Hi Tami,
I have a special place on my blog just for testimonies. Would you like me to publish yours there? I’m very interested in your testimony as we seem to have a lot in common.
robin

10 05 2013
Justin

Haha. 🙂 I really enjoyed this. Quite profound too! I am so glad He has washed my past away. What a redeemer Jesus is!!

11 05 2013
lessonsbyheart

Amen!

10 05 2013
lsgrlr

“But God..” my absolute favorite words in the Bible. This was a great post, and something I can totally relate to. We all have our dirty underwear days,and we would sit in our filth, but GOD…

10 05 2013
lessonsbyheart

Mmm. Mine too. Thanks for stopping by.

9 05 2013
worthless_romantic

My clothes must not fit right

9 05 2013
lessonsbyheart

Ya gotta take off the old stuff. The new NEVER fits well over the top of it. 😉 …it’s not yours anymore – give it all back!

9 05 2013
Heidi Viars

Hey great post … reminded me of Revelation 19:8 … that the righteous acts of the saints are the fine linen of the bride… looking good for Jesus by doing what we were made to do!

9 05 2013
lessonsbyheart

If only I could remember what’s mine to wear!
Thanks for your comment.
\o/

9 05 2013
thethinkingofthoughts2013

Brilliant post! Funny and thought provoking. How quickly I forget what I am wearing! Thank you for the timely reminder. 🙂

9 05 2013
lessonsbyheart

You’re welcome. I forget often, too. 🙂

\o/

9 05 2013
Deena Siddle

Loved it, Laughed at the opener, You hit the nail on the head there are days that we will choose to put back on our dirty undies, if we don’t stay close to God. Thanks for the reminder.

9 05 2013
lessonsbyheart

You’e most welcome. When I asked the Lord what we were talking about today, that’s what He said. I’m still chuckling about the title!

Have a God day!
\o/

9 05 2013
Toni Sprandel

Thank you for this great post! Loved it!

9 05 2013
lessonsbyheart

You’re welcome.
\o/

9 05 2013
Easter Ellen

I absolutely loved this post – so creative, so to the point, so home-hitting!

9 05 2013
lessonsbyheart

Isn’t Jesus great?

9 05 2013
Easter Ellen

Even greater than that! 🙂

9 05 2013
vonhonnauldt

Thoughtful, Spirit-led post.
I’m reminded of Paul’s plaintive writing in Romans 7, where I spend a lot of time, so to speak. I know there’s a lot of discussion about what it really means, etc., but then he says, “I thank God – through Jesus Christ our Lord!” He’s not thankful for what he is in himself, but what he is and will be through and because of the Lord Jesus. And John wrote, “it has not yet been revealed what we shall be, but…we shall be like Him,” 1 John 3:2. I’m so glad – so glad – this life isn’t the final chapter!

9 05 2013
lessonsbyheart

That makes at least two of us! Thanks for your comment.
\o/

9 05 2013
wordforlifesays

Reblogged this on Word For Life Says . . . and commented:
Did you put on the right garments today? Read this and see if you are wearing “Dirty Undies!”

9 05 2013
lessonsbyheart

Thank you for sharing! I had to change my own clothes after I read what I wrote. 😉

Isn’t God good?

9 05 2013
wordforlifesays

This is absolutely wonderful!!!

9 05 2013
I’m Putting Down My Rock | Prayers and Promises

[…] Dirty Undies (Lessonsbyheart.worpress.com) […]

9 05 2013
dianarasmussen

lol, love your post today – hit home for me! ;-D

9 05 2013
lessonsbyheart

Wahoo! Thanks Diana.

\o/

9 05 2013
lessonsbyheart

Thanks. I’m still chuckling about the title! Praying that you will grow in the grace and knowledge of our Lord Jesus Christ, who bore all our shame so we could be His righteousness. That amazes me daily.

\o/

9 05 2013
Serenity

Epic post. It garnered a lot of reflection on my part after I read it. Thank you…

9 05 2013
lessonsbyheart

(((((((((((((Hugs for you!))))))))))))
\o/

Your turn!

