Delight Me!

18 04 2013

My husband and I were on our way down to the beach  in Crescent City. On a whim I asked, “Abba, would you delight me today?” It seemed like a very audacious request from the God who has given me so much already – but there it was.

I was not prepared for how He would answer my request.

We love this beach. It’s the best place ever for finding seashells…and not just clams or mussels. My favorites are the tiny little ones – only 1/4″ or so in length. I settled myself at the edge of the driftwood and began to collect them.

Soon a woman came along. I like to share my finds and show others where the best spots are, so I stood up and approached her. We soon began talking about what we do, and discovered that we were both authors. More conversation revealed that we were both followers of Jesus, which begged the question, “Where do you  fellowship?” When I mentioned my home church, she asked if I knew her brother – an elder there. Of course I did.

Putting two and two together, I discovered that I not only knew her brother, but that her sister had been the photographer at our wedding. Further, this woman and I had been in band together in high school back in the 70s.

We had a great time talking, and made plans to have dinner together that evening.

Wow! That was so cool, Lord, I thought to myself. I was certainly delighted with this chance meeting.

But there was more to come.

Sitting back on the beach, I talked with Jesus and thanked Him for the many songs He’d given me over the years. I decided to give Him a little concert – sing them back to Him while I continued to gather my little treasures. Soon the sound of music, backed by sea gulls and pounding waves, filled the air.

Two women sat off at a distance, also collecting shells. Bit by bit they moved closer – until they were almost on top of me. Having filled my little jar, I stood to locate my husband so I could join him. When I did, the younger of the two said, “I’m sorry if we’re invading your space. I heard Jesus in your songs, and wanted to hear them better.”

“Gee, thanks for the complement! No problem. I wasn’t leaving because of you. I’ve gathered all I want, and was going to go find my hubby,” I replied.

We began to talk, and soon discovered that we were from the same town, and also sisters in Christ. Twice in one day – that’s awesome!

Double delight, I thought with a smile.

As we were talking, I looked at the ground by my feet and spotted a most unusual barnacle. It looked like it had been formed around a golf ball – and then the ball extracted from the center of the cluster.

Share it with her, I heard in my head, so I reached out to show her my find.

I dropped it into her open palm. Her reaction was completely unexpected. She looked at it, then with her hand quaking, she moved it back to me – then toward herself – then back toward me again.

What on earth? I thought.

After a few minutes, she quietly said, “This means something.

“You see, earlier this year my brother was fishing with two friends over by the lighthouse. A sneaker wave swept all three of them off the rocks. It took them 45 minutes to recover my brother’s body because it was caught on the barnacles underwater. I think God is letting me know that he is okay – there with him. Thank you so much for this gift.”

Triple delight!

The request to be delighted by the Lord rarely goes unfulfilled. I never know what to expect. There are many more stories like this one to tell.

Try it sometime!!

“Delight yourself in the Lord, and He will give you the desires of your heart.”

Actions

Information

4 responses

18 04 2013
tirzahbelle

That is so inspiring. The Lord shows himself with signs if we are open to know that he is there! He has given me signs of comfort and care. Amen.

18 04 2013
lessonsbyheart

Isn’t He amazing? I just love Him!

18 04 2013
wordforlifesays

Wow! That’s all I can say 🙂

18 04 2013
lessonsbyheart

🙂

Your turn!

